Stock Market Holidays 2023 – BSE, NSE trading holidays


Is the share market open today?

This is a question every trader faces once in a while. The answer to this question depends on the day and time you ask it. Indian equity stock exchanges (NSE and BSE) are open Monday to Friday and the general trading hours are between 9:15 AM and 3:30 PM. All Saturdays and Sundays are stock market holidays (except Muhurat trading on account of Diwali) so share market remains closed.

Stock market holidays 2023 list includes the following 15 festivals. In addition, all Saturdays and Sundays are observed as trading holidays in BSE and NSE. It is to be noted that BSE trading holidays and NSE trading holidays are not different and both stock exchanges open and close at the same time.

Stock Market Holidays 2023 List

Republic DayJanuary 26,2023Thursday
HoliMarch 07,2023Tuesday
Ram NavamiMarch 30,2023Thursday
Mahavir JayantiApril 04,2023Tuesday
Good FridayApril 07,2023Friday
Dr. Baba Saheb Ambedkar JayantiApril 14,2023Friday
Maharashtra DayMay 01,2023Monday
Bakri IdJune 28,2023Wednesday
Independence DayAugust 15,2023Tuesday
Ganesh ChaturthiSeptember 19,2023Tuesday
Mahatma Gandhi JayantiOctober 02,2023Monday
DussehraOctober 24,2023Tuesday
Diwali BalipratipadaNovember 14,2023Tuesday
Gurunanak JayantiNovember 27,2023Monday
ChristmasDecember 25,2023Monday

Following Holidays are falling on Saturday / Sunday

MahashivratriFebruary 18,2023Saturday
Id-Ul-Fitr (Ramzan Id)April 22,2023Saturday
MuharramJuly 29,2023Saturday
Diwali * Laxmi PujanNovember 12,2023Sunday

*Muhurat Trading will be conducted on Monday, 12 November 2023 (Diwali- Laxmi Pujan). 

Timings of Muhurat Trading shall be notified subsequently. The exchanges may alter / change any of the above holidays.

In total, stock market holidays 2023 list includes 15 days when full-day operations wouldn’t take place.

BSE / NSE Trading Holidays 2022

Republic Day26 January 2022Wednesday
Mahashivratri1 March 2022Tuesday
Holi18 March 2022Friday
Mahavir Jayanti /
Dr. Baba Saheb Ambedkar Jayanti
14 April 2022Thursday
Good Friday15 April 2022Friday
Id-Ul-Fitr (Ramzan Id)3 May 2022Tuesday
Muharram9 August 2022Tuesday
Independence Day15 August 2022Monday
Ganesh Chaturthi31 August 2022Wednesday
Dussehra5 October 2022Wednesday
Diwali * Laxmi Pujan24 October 2022Monday
Diwali Balipratipada26 October 2022Wednesday
Gurunanak Jayanti8 November 2022Tuesday

*Muhurat Trading will be conducted on Monday, 24 October 2022 (Diwali- Laxmi Pujan). 

In total, stock market holidays 2022 list includes 13 days when full-day operations wouldn’t take place.

Here are some resources for you:



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here