Stock Market Holidays 2024 – BSE, NSE trading holidays


Last updated on January 19, 2024

Is TOday one of NSE holidays 2024?

This is a question every trader faces once in a while. The answer to this question depends on the day and time you ask it. Indian equity stock exchanges (NSE and BSE) are open Monday to Friday and the general trading hours are between 9:15 AM and 3:30 PM. All Saturdays and Sundays are stock market holidays (except Muhurat trading on account of Diwali) so the share market remains closed.

BSE and NSE holidays 2024 list includes the following 15 festivals. In addition, all Saturdays and Sundays are observed as trading holidays in BSE and NSE. It is to be noted that BSE holidays 2024 and NSE holidays 2024 are not different and both stock exchanges open and close at the same time.

BSE and NSE Holidays 2024 List (SEBI Holidays)

Public Holiday Declared Under
Negotiable Instruments Act
22 January 2024Monday
Republic Day26 January 2024Friday
Mahashivratri8 March 2024Friday
Holi25 March 2024Monday
Good Friday29 March 2024Friday
Id-Ul-Fitr (Ramzan Id)11 April 2024Thursday
Ram Navami17 April 2024Wednesday
Maharashtra Day1 May 2024Wednesday
Bakri Id17 June 2024Monday
Muharram17 July 2024Wednesday
Independence Day15 August 2024Thursday
Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti2 October 2024Wednesday
Diwali * Laxmi Pujan1 November 2024Friday
Gurunanak Jayanti15 November 2024Friday
Christmas25 December 2024Wednesday

Following Holidays are falling on Saturday / Sunday

Dr. Baba Saheb Ambedkar Jayanti14 April 2024Sunday
Mahavir Jayanti21 April 2024Sunday
Ganesh Chaturthi7 September 2024Saturday
Dussehra13 October 2024Sunday
Diwali Balipratipada2 November 2024Saturday

*Muhurat Trading will be conducted on Friday, 1 November 2024 (Diwali Laxmi Pujan). 

Block Deal Session: 17:45 hrs to 18:00 hrs
Pre-Open Session: 18:00 hrs to 18:08 hrs
Normal Market Session: 18:15 hrs to 19:15 hrs
Call Auction Illiquid Session: 18:20 hrs to 19:05 hrs
Closing Session: 19:25 hrs to 19:35 hrs

The exchanges may alter/change any of the above holidays.

In total, the stock market holidays 2024 list includes 14 days when full-day operations wouldn’t take place.

BSE / NSE Holidays 2023

Republic Day26 January 2023Thursday
Holi7 March 2023Tuesday
Ram Navami30 March 2023Thursday
Mahavir Jayanti4 April 2023Tuesday
Good Friday7 April 2023Friday
Dr. Baba Saheb Ambedkar Jayanti14 April 2023Friday
Maharashtra Day1 May 2023Monday
Bakri Id29 June 2023Wednesday
Independence Day15 August 2023Tuesday
Ganesh Chaturthi19 September 2023Tuesday
Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti2 October 2023Monday
Dussehra24 October 2023Tuesday
Diwali Balipratipada14 November 2023Tuesday
Gurunanak Jayanti27 November 2023Monday
Christmas25 December 2023Monday

Following Holidays are falling on Saturday / Sunday

Mahashivratri18 February 2023Saturday
Id-Ul-Fitr (Ramzan Id)22 April 2023Saturday
Muharram29 July 2023Saturday
Diwali * Laxmi Pujan12 November 2023Sunday

*Muhurat Trading was conducted on Sunday, 12 November 2023 (Diwali- Laxmi Pujan). 

The stock market holidays 2023 list includes 15 days when full-day operations wouldn’t take place.


Here are some resources for you:



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here